Behind the scenes: VICTORY Jewellery Shoot

Last Sunday I headed down to Bethnal Green to shoot my new Victory earrings and Bomani masks at Work Rate Studio.  I have been prepping the concept for months and was thrilled to be working with make up artist Sarah Elizabeth and photographers Chris and Tanu again.

I love putting shoots together it helps me create a story behind the jewellery which really brings it to life, let me walk you through my process…

Step 1: Moodboard created via Pinterest

elisha francis, modd board, jewellery shoot

Once I have the concept created in my head I use Pinterest to put together some images that communicates my ideas in terms of style, colours and lighting so that I can send the moodboard to the photographers, make-up artist and models so that we’re all on the same page when it come to shoot day

Step 2: Casting the models
The next step is finding the perfect models! For this shoot I wanted to used 3 female models and 1 male model who had an edgy look so first I called upon my beautiful sister Nicquel who has modeled for me in the past and has amazing freckles, a gorgeous face and is absolutely fierce in front of the camera.  Next I headed over to Model Mayhem and put out a casting call for models and this is were I found Jay Zalewski, Nicole Rachel and Yaourou Kante Lehrmann.  Each of them had a unique look that I thought would work really well with the jewellery.

elisha francis, jewellery shoot, models

Models From left to right: Jay, Yaourou, Nicole and Nicquel

Step 3: Confirm the studio
Securing a date that works with 9 people is often tricky but luckily everything fell into place with this shoot and a date was set that worked with the whole team.  I wanted to use Work Rate Studios in Bethnal Green to do the photo shoot as I have had a great experience shooting there in the past, the location is easy to get to and the facilities are superb.

work rate studios

Step 4: Shoot day
The day of the shoot I woke up early excited for the day ahead, my bags were packed from the night before with jewellery, wardrobe and hair styling equipment.
I arrived at the studio at 10am and set up the wardrobe and jewels for the day, first to arrive was the lovely make-up artist Sarah with her case of make up, followed by the models and then the photographers Chris and Tanu along with Neelansh, Tanu’s brother and assistant for the day and last but not least the lovely Martina came along to assist me on set.

elisha francis, jewellery designer, behind the scenes

elisha francis, jewellery blog, behind the scenes, make up

elisha francis, wardrobe, jewellery shoot

The team were all on set and ready for a great day of shooting, I had three looks prepared for the models, Natural Nudes, Monochrome Classics and Gangster Chic.

The models worked their magic in front of the camera and the atmosphere in the studio was electric!

elisha francis, photoshoot, jewellery designer

Take a look at some of the behind the scenes footage captured on the day…

 

Come back soon to see the final edits of the gorgeous images!

Creative team
Jewellery: Elisha Francis London
Photographer’s: Chris and Tanu
Photographer’s assistant: Neelansh
Make-up artist: Sarah Elizabeth
Models: Jay Zalewski, Nicole Rachel, Nicquel Jackson and Yaourou Konaté Lehrmann
Assistant: Martina Weekes

Location: Work Rate Studio

Leave a Reply

